top of page
“Asking questions is what brains were born to do, at least when we were young children. For young children, quite literally, seeking explanations is as deeply rooted a drive as seeking food or water.”
Alison Gopnik
(2009) The Philosophical Baby

Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is guidance published by the government about what maybe planned for children’s learning from the birth to the age of five. The EYFS is in developmental age bands and the staff will make assessments about which developmental band is a best fit for your child and plan for their learning accordingly.

The Areas of Learning

The EYFS is organised under Prime and Specific areas of learning. 


The Prime areas are:-

  • Personal, Social and Emotional

  • Physical

  • Communication and Language


The Specific areas are:-

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive Art and Design


There are seven areas of learning. You will find out a little bit more about each area of learning below.

Understanding the World

This involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.


This involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems and to describe shapes, spaces and measures.

Communication and Language 

This involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves and to speak and listen in a range of situations.


This involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and begin to read and write. Children must be given access to wide range of reading materials to spark their interest.

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

This involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and to develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behavior in groups and to have confidence.

Physical Development

This involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive and to develop their co-ordination control and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.

Expressive Art and Design

This involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role play and design and technology.

bottom of page